Sunday, May 4, 2014

Glory 16 Results

Glory 16 took place last night in Denver, CO and featured a 4-man heavyweight contender tournament as well as the Glory Welterweight Championship title fight. Fighting for the welterweight title were Marc De Bonte and Karapet Karapetyan. Unlike most Glory fights the title bout was five rounds and when it was all over De Bonte was standing a top of the welterweight division as the new champion after taking home a close split decision. De Bonte was originally set to face Nieky Holzken for the title, but Holzken was forced to withdraw from the bout. We can most likely expect to see De Bonte’s first title defense be against Holzken.

In the 4-man heavyweight tournament Errol Zimmerman proved to be too much for the opposition as he scored (T)KO’s over both the men he faced on the night. In the tournament semi-finals he made quick work of Australian Ben Edwards and in the tournament final he stopped Anderson Silva. The tournament win is a nice way for Zimmerman to throw his name back in the mix for title contention after having suffered a KO loss to Daniel Ghita at Glory 13.

Pat Barry made his Glory debut on the night and boy was it exciting, although not in favor of Barry. Zack Mwekassa welcomed Barry to the Glory ring with heavy punches and scored a monstrous KO in the first round. First Mwekassa hurt Barry on the feet forcing the former UFC fighter to take a knee, when the fight resumed Mwekassa was on the attack and a vicious left uppercut flattened Barry out. It was a brutal knockout and nice win for Zack Mwekassa.

Some big fights also took place on the undercard, Raymond Daniels scored a highlight reel knockout of Francois Ambgang with a spinning heel kick and Artem Levin scored a decision victory over young Canadian Robert Thomas.


Glory Heavyweight 4-Man Tournament Semi-Finals
Errol Zimmerman def. Ben Edwards via (T)KO in Rd. 1
Anderson Silva def. Sergey Kharitonov via Unanimous Decision

Glory Heavyweight 4-Man Tournament Final
Errol Zimmerman def. Anderson Silva via (T)KO in Rd. 1

Glory Welterweight Title Fight
Marc De Bonte def. Karapet Karapetyan via Split Decision

Super Fights
Zack Mwekassa def. Pat Barry via KO in Rd. 1
Raymond Daniels def. Francois Ambang via KO in Rd. 1
Artem Levin def. Robert Thomas via Unanimous Decision
Benjamin Adegbuyi def. Daniel Sam via (T)KO in Rd. 2
Josh Jauncey def. Warren Stevelmans via Unanimous Decision
Artem Vakhitov def. Igor Jurkovic via Unanimous Decision
Jamal Ben Saddik def. Nicolas Wamba via (T)KO in Rd. 2
Muay Thai Authority Muay Thai and Kickboxing News Site

Bringing you the latest in Muay Thai and Kickboxing news.

No comments:

Post a Comment